HA2021_Bannière_FINALE.jpg

 

An online outpouring of generosity: $115,000 for the Residence!  

 

It was a perilous plunge to take, but the outcome certainly made it all worthwhile! The risky move—replacing the usual lavish gala with an online comedy and music show—proved to be an overwhelming success. Beyond all expectations, the virtual Happening event, presented by the National Bank, raised the net amount of $115,703.53 for the Residence.

 

Close to 310 people had purchased tickets, which suggests that the two virtual rooms included a total of approximately 600 guests who gathered on Saturday, April 24 to enjoy the event.

 

During the evening, 50 of these spectators further demonstrated their generosity by becoming ambassadors of the Residence. “We were a little concerned about this part of the evening,” admits Nathalie Blanchet, Director of Philanthropic Development at the Residence.  “We were under the impression that, in this virtual format, people might not be as willing to become ambassadors. We were so incredibly moved by the generosity of the gala’s spectators… it gave us chills!”

 

Judging from the smiling and laughing faces projected on two giant screens facing the stage where the event took place, the remote audience was delighted by Louis-José Houde’s performance. And, Louis-José didn’t hesitate a moment to interact with them, making humorous remarks and comments about certain spectators, personally addressing them by the names that appeared under their virtual windows.  

 

Comedian Simon Gouache also gave a fabulous performance, as did Joey Elias, who performed for the evening’s English-speaking audience.

 

A second home

 

A 10-year-old boy and his father provoked a huge outpouring of generosity as they recounted the last days they spent with the most special woman in their lives—a mother, a wife—at the Residence. Justin and Charles Breton illustrated the incredible humanity of the care provided at the Residence with a striking authenticity. “The first time I went, I wasn't too sure what the place was and how things were going to be. Then, after going a few times, I felt it was like my Mom’s second home,” Justin says in the video.

 

From the first minute it played, the video generated a flood of generous donors, all agreeing to become ambassadors of the Residence. As one name after another popped up in the chat box, they were written on cards for host Natalie Poirier to read out. They were coming in so quickly, she could barely keep up with thanking each ambassador individually!

 

Musical group SHINE then followed things up with a lively musical performance, belting out an hour of pop and rock hits from the 70s, 80s and 90s. It was a joy to see spectators of all ages—including a cat!—dancing in their living rooms, kitchens, offices and bedrooms!  

 

The two singers and three musicians ended the night with their heart-wrenching rendition of With or Without You by U2 as, onscreen, couples, parents and children, brothers and sisters, could be seen embracing.

 

Even virtually, the warmth of solidarity, gratitude and attachment bearing witness to the audience’s commitment to the cause was unmistakably profound.  

Presenter

Our partners
Partners Réconfort
Canadian Tire.png
Logo DPJL 1.jpg
Ste-Agathe
Partners Espoir
groupe_auto_force_edited.jpg
ics-informatique-logo-e1433268709244.jpg
Partner Coffret gourmand
logo-sanivac.jpg
Partners Soutien
Gaz%20P%C3%A9trole%20Charbonneau(74)_edi
Logo Winpak.jpg
Partner Témoignages
logo-rebuts-soulanges.jpg

HA2021_Bannière_FINALE.jpg

La générosité a explosé dans la sphère virtuelle :

115 000 $ pour la Maison!

 

Le plongeon était périlleux mais il fut couronné d’une note parfaite ! Le grand saut - remplacer le somptueux gala à succès par un spectacle d’humour et de musique virtuel – fut une réussite inespérée. Au-delà de toute attente, le Happening virtuel, présenté par Banque Nationale, a permis de recueillir le montant net de 115 703,53 $ pour la Maison.

 

Près de 310 personnes s’étaient procuré des billets, ce qui laisse supposer que les deux salles virtuelles comptaient au total et approximativement un public de près de 600 personnes réunies le samedi 24 avril dernier.

 

Parmi ces spectateurs, 50 personnes sont devenues ambassadrices de la Maison. « Nous étions un peu préoccupées par cette portion de la soirée, admet Nathalie Blanchet, directrice du développement philanthropique de la Maison. Nous avions l’impression, qu’en mode virtuel, ce serait beaucoup plus difficile d’amener les gens à se manifester pour devenir ambassadeurs. La générosité des spectateurs nous a littéralement émues… nous en avions des frissons !  ».

 

À en juger par les mines souriantes et rieuses qui s’affichaient sur les deux écrans géants devant la scène du studio où avait lieu l’évènement, Louis-José Houde a ravi son public à distance. Il ne s’est d’ailleurs pas privé d’interagir avec lui, y allant de commentaires et de remarques humoristiques à l’endroit de certains spectateurs, à qui il s’adressait par le nom se trouvant sous la fenêtre de l’œil de leur caméra.  

 

Simon Gouache a aussi offert un numéro fort apprécié, et il en fut de même pour le public anglophone, avec le comédien humoriste Joey Elias.

 

La deuxième maison

 

Un jeune garçon de 10 ans et son père ont provoqué un énorme élan de générosité en racontant les derniers jours écumés en compagnie de la femme de leur vie – mère et épouse, à la Maison. Justin et Charles Breton ont illustré avec une justesse criante d’authenticité l’immense humanité enveloppant les soins prodigués à la Maison. « La première fois que j’y suis allé, je n’étais pas trop sûr de quoi ça aurait l’air mais après être allé plusieurs fois, j’ai senti que c’était comme la deuxième maison de ma mère », déclare Justin dans la vidéo.

 

Celle-ci fut présentée après les spectacles d’humour et dès la première minute de sa diffusion, les noms de généreux donateurs ayant décidé de devenir ambassadeurs de la Maison ont commencé à défiler sur les écrans. L’animatrice, Natalie Poirier, à qui l’on remettait des feuillets sur lesquels étaient inscrits les noms au fur et à mesure qu’ils apparaissent sur le fil du clavardage, avait à peine le temps de remercier chacun d’entre eux après avoir dévoilé leur nom !

 

Le groupe musical SHINE a par la suite offert une prestation musicale enlevante, en interprétant pendant une heure des succès pop et rock des années 70 à 90. Il fallait voir les spectateurs de tout âge – et même le chat ! - danser dans leur salon, la cuisine, le bureau ou la chambre !

 

Les deux chanteuses et les trois musiciens ont bouclé la soirée en interprétant la pièce With or Without you, du groupe U2. À ce moment, on a pu voir, sur l’écran, des couples, parent et enfant, frère et sœur, enlacés devant leur caméra.

 

Même virtuel, le ralliement à la mission de la Maison révèle ses couleurs chaudes, celles de la solidarité, de la reconnaissance et de l’attachement.

Présentateur

Nos partenaires
Partenaires Réconfort
Canadian Tire.png
Logo DPJL 1.jpg
Ste-Agathe
Partenaires Espoir
groupe_auto_force_edited.jpg
ics-informatique-logo-e1433268709244.jpg
Partenaire Coffret gourmand
logo-sanivac.jpg
Partenaires Soutien
Gaz%20P%C3%A9trole%20Charbonneau(74)_edi
Logo Winpak.jpg
Partenaire Témoignages
logo-rebuts-soulanges.jpg