Historique-et-mission.jpg

A bit of history

An urgent need. A cause for concern. An incredible idea.
An undeniably important project.

An obvious need: Only three palliative care beds were available to a population of over 135,000 people in the Vaudreuil-Soulanges area in 2003.

 

A growing concern: It was obvious to physicians Dr. Chantal Anctil and Dr. Sylvie Dufresne as well as Suzanne Roberge, a nurse, and Sylvie d'Aragon, a manager in the healthcare network, that the need for palliative care facilities was a growing concern. What the population needed was an oasis of serenity, where people could live out the final moments of their lives, accompanied by caring health professionals and surrounded by their families.

 

An incredible idea: The idea for a Palliative Care Residence to serve the region was then transformed into a concrete project that was widely promoted by Ms. Sylvie C. Crevier and Mr. Yves Patenaude in 2004.

 

These efforts resulted in the creation of the Vaudreuil-Soulanges Health Care Foundation in 2005.

 

The next step was deciding where to build the much-desired Palliative Care Residence. The location would have to be quite central, somewhere between the Suroît Regional Hospital in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield and the Lakeshore Hospital in Pointe-Claire. A quiet, more rural setting would be best, while ensuring it was not located in a flood zone. Although there were potential sites in Pincourt, Hudson, Coteau-du-Lac and Saint-Lazare, the tranquil village of Hudson was the ultimate choice.

 

The lot on which the Residence was erected was donated by the Parsons family, whose son passed away from cancer at the age of 43, after a rather difficult end of life. His family would have loved for him to be able to spend those final days in a palliative care residence.

 

The furniture, decorative accessories, materials and labour for the Residence’s living areas were generously donated by the region’s stores and businesses.

The required $2.5 M was raised for construction and thanks to the financial contribution and volunteer efforts of the Vaudreuil-Soulanges population, entrepreneurs and professionals, the groundbreaking ceremony was finally held in November 2008 and the Residence was officially inaugurated on September 10, 2010.

 

The first patient was admitted the following week, on September 16.  

 

During its first year, the Residence was able to count on the help of 125 volunteers. Ten years later, that number has almost doubled.

2013 was a year filled with defining moments.  

During discussions on the topic of Dying with Dignity, Richard Mainville, the Residence’s Executive Director, shared his thoughts, emphasizing that hospice care neither intends to accelerate death nor extend life. Rather, the role of those who provide palliative care is to accompany people at the end-of-life phase.

 

A few months later, in June, senators Jacques Demers and Larry Smith took part in the Residence’s annual golf tournament, which generated $70,020.

 

In August of the same year, in honour of musical group KISS’s 40th anniversary, a tribute album was produced to raise funds for the Residence. This particular project was the initiative of Senneville resident and rock-music journalist Mitch Lafond. After his father-in-law passed away at the Residence earlier that year, Mitch wanted to express his gratitude for the exceptional care his father-in-law had received. Several well-known rock and heavy metal bands such as Tesla, Cinderella and Guns N'Roses recorded KISS songs for the tribute album.

 

This was also the year that the Residence officially changed its name from
the Vaudreuil-Soulanges Health Care Foundation to the currently used Vaudreuil-Soulanges Palliative Care Residence.

PAGE HISTORIQUE ET MISSION_2.JPG

Our mission

In a natural, calm and serene setting, within an environment of caring professionals, the team of the Vaudreuil-Soulanges Palliative Care Residence offers end-of-life palliative care services at no cost to our patients as well as assistance to their loved ones.

Our vision

To be recognized as an exemplary model for end-of-life palliative care and support services for our patients and their loved ones, while respecting the Residence’s values.

Historique-et-mission.jpg

Un peu d’histoire

Un besoin criant. Un souci. Une idée grandiose. Un projet qui allait de soi.

Le besoin indéniable : seulement trois lits de soins palliatifs étaient accessibles à une population de plus de 135 000 personnes dans la région de Vaudreuil-Soulanges en 2003.

 

Le souci, grandissant, troublait Dre Chantal Anctil et Dre Sylvie Dufresne, médecins, de même que Suzanne Roberge, infirmière et Sylvie d’Aragon, une gestionnaire du réseau de la santé. Il fallait un lieu de sérénité et des professionnels remplis d’humanité pour accueillir les personnes en fin de vie et leur famille. 

 

L’idée grandiose d’une maison de soins palliatifs pour desservir la région s’est ensuite mue en projet, dont Mme Sylvie C. Crevier et M. Yves Patenaude ont fait la promotion en 2004

 

La Fondation des soins de santé de Vaudreuil-Soulanges fut créée en 2005.

 

Il fallait maintenant décider où on allait construire cette maison de soins palliatifs tant souhaitée. Elle devait se trouver idéalement entre les hôpitaux de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield et du Lakeshore, dans un secteur assez central de la région et un environnement champêtre, sans être dans une zone inondable. Entre des sites situés à Pincourt, Hudson, Coteau-du-Lac et Saint-Lazare, on a opté pour le village paisible de Hudson.

 

Le terrain qui a accueilli la Maison fut donné par la famille Parsons, dont un fils a été emporté par un cancer à l’âge de 43 ans, après une fin de vie éprouvante. Sa famille aurait aimé qu’il puisse vivre ses derniers jours dans une maison de soins palliatifs. 

 

Les meubles, accessoires décoratifs, matériaux et la main-d’œuvre pour la décoration du salon ont été offerts par des entreprises et commerçants de la région.

 

Il a fallu amasser 2,5 M$ pour la construction de la Maison et grâce à la contribution financière et bénévole de la population de Vaudreuil-Soulanges, d’entrepreneurs et de professionnels, on soulignait la première pelletée de terre en novembre 2008 et son inauguration officielle le 10 septembre 2010

 

Le premier patient a été admis le 16 septembre suivant.

 

La Maison pouvait compter sur l’apport de 125 bénévoles à sa première année. Dix ans plus tard c’était pratiquement le double.

 

L’année 2013 fut ponctuée de moments marquants.  

 

Lors des débats sur la question Mourir dans la dignité, le directeur général de la Maison, Richard Mainville, a livré ses impressions, en soulignant que les soins offerts par les maisons de soins palliatifs n’accélèrent pas la mort ni n’étirent la vie. Les personnes qui prodiguent ces soins  accompagnent plutôt en fin de vie.

 

Quelques mois plus tard, en juin, les sénateurs Jacques Demers et Larry Smith ont participé au tournoi de golf annuel de la Maison, qui a généré 70 020 $.

 

En août de la même année, un album-hommage au groupe KISS, dont c’était le 40e anniversaire, a été réalisé pour amasser des fonds pour la Maison. Il s’agissait d’une initiative de Mitch Lafond, journaliste spécialisé en musique rock et résident de Senneville. Son beau-père était décédé à la Maison au cours de cette année-là et il a voulu exprimer sa reconnaissance pour les soins exceptionnels qu’on lui avait prodigués. Plusieurs groupes de musique rock et heavy metal connus, tels que Tesla, Cinderella et Guns N’Roses avaient enregistré des chansons de KISS sur cet album.

 

Cette année-là, le nom actuel remplace le nom Fondation des soins de santé de Vaudreuil-Soulanges.

PAGE HISTORIQUE ET MISSION_2.JPG

Notre mission

Dans un milieu naturel, calme et serein et une ambiance chaleureuse, l’équipe professionnelle de la Maison offre gratuitement des soins palliatifs de fin de vie aux personnes ainsi que des services d’accompagnement à leurs proches.

Notre vision

Être reconnue comme un modèle en soins palliatifs de fin de vie aux personnes, ainsi qu’en services d’accompagnement à leurs proches et ce dans le respect de nos valeurs.