Patient services

Our care

Our patients and those accompanying them are warmly welcomed by a nurse and a physician who show them to one of the Residence’s 12 rooms.

 

The clinical care team consists of attendants, auxiliary nurses, nurses, nurses clinicians and four physicians.  

 

The care we provide is intended to help ease the suffering of our patients, without hastening or delaying death, and allow them to enjoy the best quality of life possible. Our care professionals stabilize patients by modifying their dosage of medication as needed. They relieve symptoms, provide hygienic care (mouth and skin care, for example) and ensure that patients are as comfortable as possible.

 

For our end-of-life patients, psychological well-being is just as important as pain relief. Our psychosocial coordinator, in collaboration with a volunteer, offers them the psychological support they need to prepare for the end of life. Patients who so desire can also receive spiritual support.

 

The members of our care staff are present day and night, attentive to our patients’ every need, while also respecting their privacy and autonomy.

 

Patients’ choices and limitations are always respected, as are their personal, cultural and religious values.

 

Our end-of-life care includes continuous palliative sedation, but we do not offer medically assisted death. We do, however, provide patients with all of the information they need to formulate advance directives regarding their treatment and care.

Our services

Comfort and physical well-being are an essential part of end-of-life care. This is precisely why they are an integral part of everything we do at the Residence.  

 

From their private rooms equipped with a bathroom and refrigerator, our patients enjoy a beautiful view of the gardens. They are also free to add their own personal touches to their rooms. 

 

The Residence also has common areas where patients can relax or gather with their loved ones. Unfortunately, these areas are not accessible during the pandemic.  

 

Patients who enjoy getting some fresh air can be brought outdoors in their beds if they are unable to walk or use a wheelchair.

 

Satisfying our patients’ tastebuds is also of great importance to us. Our chef and his team put their talents to work in order to create the most exquisite home cooked meals, provided free of charge. We always make sure our patients’ cravings for snacks is satisfied, any time of day or night.  

 

Many of our patients have pets that are as important to them as any member of the family. The presence of these animals can definitely help brighten these final days of life, which is why we are always more than happy to allow these animals to be by our patients’ sides.    

 

End-of-life care is also synonymous with the well-being provided through massage therapy, pet therapy and even hair care. We offer our patients moments of pampering, relaxation and personal satisfaction, thanks to the generosity and dedication of professionals who donate their services.  

 

The Residence is also equipped with a therapeutic bath that helps ease the pain of our patients and gives them an opportunity for much-needed relaxation.

Services aux patients

Nos soins

L’accueil de nos patients et de la ou les personnes qui les accompagnent, toujours chaleureux, a lieu en présence d’une infirmière et d’un médecin, qui les conduisent à l’une des 12 chambres de la Maison.

L’équipe clinique qui leur prodigue des soins est composée de préposées aux soins, d’infirmières, d’infirmières auxiliaires, d’infirmières cliniciennes et de quatre médecins.

Ces soins ont pour but d’apaiser les souffrances, sans hâter ni retarder la mort,  et d’aider le patient à conserver la meilleure qualité de vie possible. Les professionnels des soins stabilisent la condition physique du patient, en modifiant au besoin le dosage de sa médication. Ils soulagent les symptômes, offrent des soins d’hygiène (soins de bouche et soins de la peau par exemple) et assurent son confort.

Pour nos patients en fin de vie, le bien-être psychologique est tout aussi important que le soulagement de la douleur. Notre coordonnatrice psychosociale leur offre, en collaboration avec une bénévole, le soutien psychologique nécessaire pour se préparer à la fin de la vie et affronter l’étape de la mort. Nos patients qui le souhaitent peuvent aussi recevoir du soutien spirituel.

Les membres de notre personnel des soins sont présents jour et nuit, attentifs aux moindres besoins du patient, tout en respectant son intimité et son autonomie.

Ils tiennent compte de ses choix, de ses limites, ainsi que de ses valeurs personnelles, culturelles et religieuses.

Nos soins de fin de vie incluent la sédation palliative continue, mais nous n’offrons pas l’aide médicale à mourir. La Maison s’engage cependant à fournir les informations nécessaires aux patients qui souhaitent exprimer des directives médicales anticipées.

PAGE-SERVICES-AUX-PATIENTS.jpg

Nos services

Le confort et le bien-être physique sont essentiels en fin de vie. C’est pourquoi
ils sont intégrés dans toutes les sphères de la vie à la Maison.

De leur chambre privée dotée d’une salle de bains et d’un réfrigérateur, nos patients jouissent d’une vue sur les jardins. Nous leur offrons la possibilité de personnaliser leur chambre.

Ils disposent également d’aires communes, où ils peuvent se détendre ou retrouver leurs proches. Celles-ci ne sont toutefois pas accessibles pendant la pandémie.

Nos patients qui sentent le besoin de humer l’air extérieur peuvent y être amenés avec leur lit s’ils ne peuvent pas se déplacer en marchant ou en fauteuil roulant. 

Nous accordons une grande importance au réconfort dans le contentement des papilles gustatives. Notre chef cuisinier et son équipe mettent leurs talents à profit pour concocter des repas maison gratuits et exquis. Nous pouvons combler les fringales avec des collations, à toute heure du jour et de la nuit.

Pour plusieurs personnes, leur animal de compagnie est un membre de la famille à part entière. Nous savons que sa présence est indispensable pour adoucir leurs derniers jours et c’est pourquoi il nous fait plaisir de permettre leur présence aux côtés de nos patients. 

Les soins de fin de vie se conjuguent aussi avec le bien-être que procurent la massothérapie, la zoothérapie et la possibilité de se faire coiffer. Nous offrons à nos patients ces doses de douceur, de relaxation et de satisfaction personnelle, grâce à la générosité et au dévouement de professionnels qui nous offrent leurs services. 

Nous disposons aussi d’un bain thérapeutique, qui permet de soulager la douleur, mais également grâce auquel nos patients peuvent trouver la détente dont ils ont tant besoin.